Chrome Will Now Warn You if Your Login Credentials Have Been Compromised

The company promises to secure your passwords directly within Chrome. Google is adding some new features to Chrome to keep you safe while you’re browsing online.

The next time you try to log in to a website, Chrome will alert you if your login details have been compromised in a data breach. It will also suggest you to change your passwords that you have reused.

The feature is something that the company has been working on for a while. Google is also adding real-time phishing protection to Chrome on your desktop. Chrome is already warning the users when you think you’re going to navigate to a website that’s going to try to steal your information.

Google says that this new feature, based on the company’s Safe Browsing database, is now 30 % more likely to alert you of a potential threat.

Chrome will also inform you when you think you’re going to enter your Google Account password on a suspected phishing website. Earlier, you were only able to take advantage of this feature if you had Chrome’s sync feature activated. Now it will protect whether or not you’ve turned the sync on.

In fact, Google says it’s going to work with all the passwords you’ve saved in the Chrome built-in password manager.

See Also

Google has changed the Chrome interface to make it easier to see if you’re going to save a login to a shared computer. The updated sign-in indicator is located to the right of the address bar and will briefly show you the name of the person associated with the account.

The redesigned menu item also makes it easier for the user to switch between profiles. If you’re using a password manager, you already have access to a lot of the functionality that Google is launching today.

What's Your Reaction?
Excited
1
Happy
1
In Love
0
Not Sure
0
Silly
0
View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


© 2020 The Pexels, LLC. All Rights Reserved.

Scroll To Top